https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/212062-rates_charged_for_translation_services_in_australia.html

Rates charged for translation services in Australia
Thread poster: K S (X)
K S (X)
K S (X)
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:54
Nov 15, 2011

Dear colleagues,

I have recently relocated to Australia to join my husband who is a student at a local university. Before the big move, for 5 years I worked as a full-time freelance translator and interpreter in Liverpool, England where I managed to establish a quite successful business with a fair number of direct clients. My husband and I are planning to stay in Australia for a few months or so and I would like to use this opportunity to promote my translation business here.
... See more
Dear colleagues,

I have recently relocated to Australia to join my husband who is a student at a local university. Before the big move, for 5 years I worked as a full-time freelance translator and interpreter in Liverpool, England where I managed to establish a quite successful business with a fair number of direct clients. My husband and I are planning to stay in Australia for a few months or so and I would like to use this opportunity to promote my translation business here.

I have already been approached by a few clients, but had absolutely no idea how much I should charge. The fees in England vary from 0.06 to 0.09 pounds per source word. This would be 0.09-0.14 Australian dollars per source word. Are they too high or too low? What is the avarage rate you charge for a standard translation? I know all depends on the language combination, qualifications and experience. I am interested in finding out what the standard rates are - as the last thing I want is to drive away potential clients with my ridiculous quotes!

You can learn more about my background by visiting my website at www.slobodzian.co.uk This - I hope - will you give a rough idea where I stand as a translator and how much is not too much.