Transcribing songs:prices
Thread poster: Christina Fonthes

Christina Fonthes
Local time: 08:38
French to English
+ ...
Nov 22, 2011

Hello

I have been offered a small job, it involves transcribing 5 Congolese songs in a day. I have never done anything of the sort before but I accepted the job nonetheless to get some practice.
I wanted to know firstly is 5 songs in one day possible or would I need more time?
And secondly, they are offering 20 pounds (sterling) for all 5 songs, is this ok or am i being ripped off?

Many thanks in advance.

Christina

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
What size job is it? Nov 22, 2011

Christina Fonthes wrote:

Hello

I have been offered a small job, it involves transcribing 5 Congolese songs in a day. I have never done anything of the sort before but I accepted the job nonetheless to get some practice.
I wanted to know firstly is 5 songs in one day possible or would I need more time?
And secondly, they are offering 20 pounds (sterling) for all 5 songs, is this ok or am i being ripped off?

Many thanks in advance.

Christina

Hello Christina,

Firstly, I see you are a student member, so the question must be whether the client sees this as a commercial transaction. As a student, you are not necessarily doing this purely to earn money, the experience being useful in itself. However, that's no reason to give your services cheaply or freely to a client who will then use your work to gain financial profit.