Advice on French-to-English rates
Thread poster: Alice Jones

Alice Jones  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:56
French to English
Dec 9, 2011

Hello everybody,

I have recently decided to set up as a freelance French-to-English translator and proofreader and am a new member of Proz.com. I was hoping to get some advice on what rates I should be charging for translation and proofreading as searching the internet for information is proving bewildering!

I hold an MSc in Translation Studies but have little professional experience and would like to reflect this in my rates. I have already checked the Proz.com Community Rates for my language pair and have set my rates at 0.07 - 0.09 GBP / word (23 - 30 GBP / hour) based upon this. Does this sound fair for somebody just starting out in the industry? Clearly I do not expect to be paid as much as an experienced translator but I do not want to contribute to the devaluation of the industry as a whole by offering unreasonably low rates...

Also, I am assuming that rates for proofreading will be lower - is that correct?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Direct link Reply with quote

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Welcome! Dec 9, 2011

Hello Alice,

As a Site Guide, I would like to welcome you to the ProZ.com community. I can see that you have already prepared your profile meticulously and it seems to me personally that you have set your rates just right.