Salaries for In-house translators (FR>EN)
Thread poster: twintrad
twintrad
French to English
Dec 26, 2011

Hello all,
Does anyone have an idea of current salaries offered in the greater Paris area? I have over 20 years' experience and need to negotiate with my company for a raise.
Thanks in advance,
Melinda Herron

Direct link Reply with quote

Cecile Trotin  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 18:05
English to French
Very variable Dec 27, 2011

Hi Melinda,

That's not an easy question to answer. It depends on various factors, including the size and revenues of your company. A small translation company usually has less bandwidth than one making millions of euros in revenues.

I have not worked as an in-house translator in Paris for a while but back in 2004, I was earning around 30.000€ before tax. The job was split between translation and project management. In Paris, the most I managed to get was 35.000€ in a multinational company, still with a mixture of translation and project management.

But looking at job ads for translators, salaries seem to be situated beween 25.000€ and 28.000€.

That's my very own analysis and I'm not garanteeing that it is reliable enough in your case but maybe it will help.

Wishing you a nice salary raise.

twintrad
French to English
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks! Dec 27, 2011

I appreciate your honesty!

Best wishes for 2012.

To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:

You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Salaries for In-house translators (FR>EN)

Advanced search

Déjà Vu X3
Try it, Love it

Find out why Déjà Vu is today the most flexible, customizable and user-friendly tool on the market. See the brand new features in action: *Completely redesigned user interface *Live Preview *Inline spell checking *Inline

More info »
WordFinder
The words you want Anywhere, Anytime