Threatening NDA clauses
Thread poster: Niels Stephan

Niels Stephan  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 21:31
Member (2009)
English to German
Feb 1, 2012

Like most of you (I guess) I am not a legal expert. Nevertheless we are asked to sign legally binding documents all the time.
I was asked by some new clients to sign NDAs this year and - to my belief contrary to the ones I signed in the last years - several of them had a section that said something along the lines of:

The Receiving Party acknowledges and agrees that there can be no adequate remedy at law for any breach of its obligations hereunder and therefore the Disclosing Party shall be entitled to appropriate equitable relief, without the requirement of posting a bond or surety, in addition to whatever remedies it might have at law.

1) The problem is that you can be as careful as you want, we just can not rule out with safety that - by what incident whatsoever - a NDA gets violated. To me it looks unacceptable to have an existence-threatening punishement with that.
Usually when you ask the person who send the NDA (not the legal expert either) you get an answer like "Oh, don't you worry, that is just bureaucracy." Not to me, I'm afraid.
Am I too paranoid?

2) Furthermore I do not understand how that would work out in reality. The disclosing party says "Well, the court said that you violated the NDA and that you have pay us (say) 50k. Now we think - and you agreed to that - that it is not enough, our real damage is (say, again) 2 Million." Then I say "Sounds fair to me, let me get this from the bottom drawer of my desk." How do they imagine that this would work out? Is it even _legally possible_ (and binding?) to agree on something "in addition to the law"?