Right country interest rate for the debt of a dishonest client.
Thread poster: yugoslavia

yugoslavia
United States
Local time: 15:40
English to Spanish
+ ...
Feb 14, 2012

Dear colleagues,

I’m writing because I would like to get assistance with some information.

I’m a Spanish translator and I used the services of a European collection agency to collect the debt from a debtor who has translation company offices in Estonia and France. He owed me for a document translation that I did for his company since December 2009, but he didn’t have intentions to pay me and I had to hire the services of a collection agency to collect my payment from them. I'm not happy with their performance.

I don't think they did the interest rate calculations well and they didn't include all the expenses I had in order to collect the money from this dishonest client such as phone calls to Estonia and France.

I also spent money on mail service. I sent a contract to them around 16 pages long to find out later that they were dishonest.

The CEO of the translation company closed the translation company in Estonia and he returned to his home country France. He is presently living in Tours, France and it is the place where he was hiding when the collection agency in Germany found him. When they collected the money of the debt, he was away of Estonia for more than one year.

There were two countries involved in this debt case and I don't really know what country interest rate applies to this case. He had the company in Estonia in 12-2009 when he hired me to do this translation. He came back to France around 10-2010 and he is presently living in Tours, France, now in the year 2012.

I’m wondering what country interest rate applies to this debt, What interest will be? the interest rate of France or the interest rate of Estonia? Or maybe both of them?