uncleaned files in Trados
Thread poster: ElkeKoe
ElkeKoe
ElkeKoe  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:44
English to German
+ ...
Jun 24, 2004

I am new at ProZ.com but have worked since several years as freelance translator and proofreader.
Now I have done a translation for another ProZ-member:

Purchase Order:
Words: XXX
Charge: Euro XX,XX (= Euro 0,08/Wort Ausgangstext)
Deadline: Wednesday, XX.XX.XXXX, 00.00 a.m.
Delivery: 2 Trados files (uncleaned and cleaned)

The client did solely ask for a translation before he sent me the purchase order and we only discussed the charge for th
... See more
I am new at ProZ.com but have worked since several years as freelance translator and proofreader.
Now I have done a translation for another ProZ-member:

Purchase Order:

The client did solely ask for a translation before he sent me the purchase order and we only discussed the charge for the mere translation. But now the client demands for the uncleaned file. I don't think that this is a fair behaviour because it can't be that he gets twice the file for only one payment. In my opinion uncleaned Trados files are intellectual property and private.

Now the problem is that I have send the translation already back to the client. He refuses to pay my invoice correctly. He says that he will reduce the amount he has to pay for my translation because he has to charge up the alignment of the translation against this amount.

Do I have to accept this to learn the hard way?
What rights do I have to demand for the correct payment of my invoice?

Can I rate this client in ProZ.com to save other ProZ.com members to work with this person?

Thank you very much for your replies.
Collapse

Riccardo Schiaffino
Riccardo Schiaffino  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:44
Member (2003)
English to Italian
+ ...
The purchase order is clear enough... Jun 24, 2004

Elke Koerschgens wrote:
Purchase Order: