When to give bank details
Thread poster: Sian Cooper

Sian Cooper  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 10:03
French to English
+ ...
May 23, 2012

Hi, all. I'm new to this business, and am just trying to get myself established with some agencies. I have received a communication to register my details from an agency who appears to me to be quite legit. (I've gone through the risk management pages, and checked their email address, web page, the BB, etc.).

They have sent me to complete an NDA, which is quite standard and again looks fine; and a personal details form, which is where I have started to get a nervous twitch. Below is what they are asking me for (followed by employment history, rates, etc.); is it reasonable to give them all this information now? or indeed, at all, for some of it! If they are fake, they could steal my identity totally; yet at the same time, I quite understand that they want it - how can they transfer money without my bank details? It's just... scarey...

Thanks!

Personal

Full Name:
Postal Address:
Date of Birth (DD/MM/YY):
Gender (Male / Female):
Marital Status (Married / Unmarried):
Mobile Phone:
Home Phone:
Email:
Highest qualification:
Are you a freelancer? (Yes / No):
Do you have a valid passport? (Yes / No):

Bank Account Details (For Translators Payment)*

Name of Account Holder:
Bank Name:
Branch Name:
Bank Address:
Account Number:
PAN Number:
Sort/SWIFT Code:
Tax Payee ID Number:

Direct link Reply with quote

Jenn Mercer  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:03
Member (2009)
French to English
First job at the earliest May 24, 2012

I would wait until I had done the first job for this agency at the very least. I cannot count how many agencies I have filed paperwork with and never received any work. To be honest, I would never give my bank information as I prefer to be paid by check or PayPal, however I the costs and standard policies are very different in Europe.

Natalia Aksenova  Identity Verified
Australia