Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Payments - When is the "due" date?
Thread poster: Annett Hieber

Annett Hieber  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 16:15
English to German
Jun 1, 2012

After many years of working as a translator I now have to wonder what exactly is the definition of the "due" date for payments?

I have always thought this is the date at which the payment of my invoice is due, thus I should have received the payment then. Some clients seem to share this opinion, some not. Some of them believe it is the date when they should send out (wire transfer or otherwise) the payment - which means between 4 to 10 days more for me. Doesn't this mean payment terms are extended?

I would really be interested in your opinion and how you handle it.

Thank you and a nice weekend to all.

Annett

Direct link Reply with quote

XXXphxxx  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 15:15
Portuguese to English
+ ...
The date they make the payment Jun 1, 2012

Your clients have no control over how long the various banks will take to process the payments. They could send out twenty payments on the same day and these will be received by the various translators within 0 to 5 days (10 days seems a big excessive). In my opinion we really cannot expect them to factor that in to all their admin. and payments system.

Gudrun Wolfrath  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Money should be on your account on due date Jun 1, 2012

"Berücksichtigen Sie zudem, dass Sie das Zahlungsziel einer Rechnung nur einhalten, wenn Sie den Rechnungsbetrag so überweisen, dass er innerhalb der vorgegebenen Frist auf dem Girokonto des Gläubigers gutgeschrieben wird."

http://www.helpster.de/rechnung-bezahlen-das-zahlungsziel-erreichen-sie-so_99822

Vladimír Hoffman  Identity Verified
Slovakia
Member (2009)
English to Slovak
+ ...
I agree with Lisa Simpson, Jun 1, 2012