Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Translator rates impossible to understand!
Thread poster: Jacqueline Rosa-Kuhn

Jacqueline Rosa-Kuhn
United States
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 10, 2012

Hi everyone,
I'm a freelance translator and I am subscribed to some of the most popular online freelance sites.

I know that my rates are more than affordable, I always quote based on the project itself, rather than a flat fee. So, if it is a simple project, I quote a little bit less. I translate from scratch, I don't use google translate or any other automatic translation software, and I don't use CAT tools.

On these sites, I have seen bids that are IMPOSSIBLE for me to understand! I have seen people bidding for $.005 per word, that is less than a cent!!!! And surprisingly, even some residents of USA are bidding like that! Just recently someone bid $400 for a 90,000 words project due in just 3 days, so obviously I did not even bother to bid on it.

I'm even starting to get worried about quoting my clients, because even @ a fair rate, I feel like if a client finds about any of these sites, he'll think I'm trying to rip him off!!

So my question is: HOW they do that???? Have you encountered situations like that? Is there a tool that allows a translator to afford rates like that? I'm so confused!!!!

Your thoughts, comments, and ideas are so welcome!

[Edited at 2012-07-10 14:18 GMT]

[Edited at 2012-07-10 14:19 GMT]

[Edited at 2012-07-10 15:58 GMT]

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 00:09
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Don't give up, just be selective! Jul 10, 2012