Thread poster: Ravindra Godbole

Ravindra Godbole  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 07:04
Member (2002)
English to Marathi
+ ...
Jul 14, 2012

How much should I charge per hour for converting a word file of 326 pages according to the original pdf file supplied by the client. The work was for 9 hours which involved cutting, pasting , margin setting. In number of pages the size of the original page differed from the standard A 4 page. I am basically a translator and not a DTP person hence after sitting for 9 hours with the DTP expert it took so much time to complete the work.
So what will be the reasonable minimum charges per hour I should charge?
Can anybody will please help me?

Nicole Schnell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 18:34
English to German
+ ...
Here is the standard that I apply for this kind of work Jul 14, 2012

Call one or more copy shops or similar vendors for DTP-services in your / your customer's city and get an estimate - then charge the same. The reason is simple: That's where the customer has to go in case you are not available. Do not charge less. The job will take you much longer anyway if you are not a DTP-person.

United States
English to German
+ ...
Do I understand correctly? Jul 14, 2012

Ravindra Godbole wrote:

How much should I charge per hour for converting a word file of 326 pages according to the original pdf file supplied by the client. The work was for 9 hours which involved cutting, pasting , margin setting.

You finished this enormous task already without setting up any price in advance?

Be firm and good luck!

Vladimír Hoffman  Identity Verified
Slovakia
Local time: 03:34
Member (2009)
English to Slovak
+ ...
Was it single task or a part of translation project? Jul 14, 2012

If the text you had to convert was the text you had to translate, then, considering a volume, I wouldn't charge anything and include price of supporting works into basic rate.

Ravindra Godbole wrote: