Purchase order. How does it work
Thread poster: Katerintra

Katerintra  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 19:55
English to Russian
+ ...
Aug 4, 2012

I am new in the business. Can you help? Where do I get Purchase Order from? What should it say? Thank you

Direct link Reply with quote

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 01:55
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Welcome! Aug 4, 2012

I suggest you take the time to read through wiki.proz.com. There, you will find useful experience-based insight about how to manage your business. Especially important for a newbie are:
- http://wiki.proz.com/wiki/index.php/Risk_management_for_translators_and_interpreters
- http://wiki.proz.com/wiki/index.php/Category:Money_matters
- http://wiki.proz.com/wiki/index.php/Category:Marketing

And for your protection:
- http://wiki.proz.com/wiki/index.php/Detecting_and_reacting_to_false_job_offers_and_other_scams
- http://wiki.proz.com/wiki/index.php/Translator_scam_alert_reports

Make sure you read these sections and ask in case there is something you don't understand. This was information compiled by colleagues in Proz.com and contains very good advice I'd say.

As for the "purchase order", it is simply a document issued by a client to reflect the volume, nature, deadline(s), rates, and any other conditions for the job. Translation agencies issue purchase orders in all cases, and if you work for an agency you should make sure they send you a purchase order before you translate a single word.

Direct customers are not necessarily used to sending PO's (PO=Purchase Order), but you can ask them for a letter or email stating the same information: volume, deadline, rates, and any other agreements you made with them about the translation job.

The purpose of this purchase order to reflect the agreements, and will be the base for your invoice.

There is no specific form or standard format por PO's. Each client have their format.

Good luck!