Is it wise to receive payment of over €5K via PayPal
Thread poster: Jenny Duthie

Jenny Duthie  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 11:44
French to English
Oct 1, 2012

Hello,

I'm a freelance translator based in France, I did a very large job for a US agency (who pay me via PayPal) and the amount which is due next week will be nearly 7000 US dollars (about 5400€). I'm worried about losing a substantial amount of this invoice through PayPal & currency conversion charges because it's such a high amount, would wire transfer be a safer and cheaper option? Or perhaps 2 separate PayPal payments? I also use Moneybookers. I haven't discussed this with the agency yet, as I'd like some feedback before contacting them.

Thank you.

Jenny

Direct link Reply with quote

Attila Piróth  Identity Verified
France
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Wire transfer Oct 1, 2012

PayPal costs will be prohibitively high - around 4% of the total. And evan though the echecque and mass transfer options are more cost-effective, they are much more expensive than they used to be.

Moneybookers' fees are much more reasonable. Nonetheless for such a high amount, wire transfer would certainly be my choice. Normal checks are another option; check with your bank the fees for cashing checks before proposing that option.

Best,
Attila

Mark Hamlen  Identity Verified
France
Member (2010)
French to English
+ ...
Check with your bank Oct 1, 2012

The cost for a wire from the States should be about 35 euros, check with the bank and the dollars will be changed to euros at the bank rate. Paypal will cost you an enormous amount. A check from the States will take about a month to clear and then there will be exchange charges.

Mauro Miccolis  Identity Verified
Italy
English to Italian
+ ...
Avoid Paypal Oct 1, 2012

Hi. I used to get paid by Paypal (even whenever I sold something) and after a while you realize that even though the circuit is one of the safest, you eventually lose a lot of money.