Thread poster: Khalid Hantash

Khalid Hantash  Identity Verified
Palestine
Member (2007)
Arabic to English
+ ...
Oct 1, 2012

Dear ALL,

I live in a country (Palestine Territory) where PayPal payments is not accepted. I tried all the methods and made several personal visits to almost all the banks in the country but nobody could help me in this issue. I feel depressed when I won a translation bid with PayPal the only method of payment. MoneyBookers works well in my country without any problems. I have been using since 2004.

I kindly ask for your suggestions in this respect.

My regards,

Khalid

Direct link Reply with quote

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 07:27
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
It must be really frustrating Oct 1, 2012

I really sympathise, Khalid. Unfortunately, I don't know what you or others can do about it.

I once worked with a client out your way and the bank transfer fell foul of American sanctions. It took months to sort it out and even then I only got paid because his wife visited some third country. Crazy situation! He wasn't a terrorist and I wasn't an arms dealer, for heaven's sake! I felt sorrier for him than I felt for myself - at least it was an out-of-the-ordinary occurrence for me. But of course it has put me off dealing with clients from affected countries.

Perhaps ProZ.com would consider setting up some sort of system just for people like you. I don't think they really want to go down that road, and that's OK for the rest of us because we have lots of alternatives. Anyway, they'd have to charge for it so I don't think the rest of us would really want it anyway. But for you it could mean the difference between a world-wide client base and a very limited one geographically. Might be worth suggesting it to them via a support ticket and/or the "ideas" tab in the top-right corner of the screen.

Khalid Hantash  Identity Verified
Palestine
Member (2007)
Arabic to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
PayPal deadlock Oct 1, 2012