Thread poster: Helena Grahn

Helena Grahn  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 06:39
Member (2006)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Nov 8, 2012

I have noticed more and more that some countries in Europe need a VAT number whereas in the UK it is an optional thing to do up to £70K+. I wonder what the advantages are when you are VAT registered (or disadvantages) and if you guys also have come across many of these cases that you lose the business for not having a VAT number. Tks!

Direct link Reply with quote

Ty Kendall  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Hebrew to English
I've worked with..... Nov 8, 2012

Italian, French, Lithuanian, Hungarian, Belgian, Maltese and German outsourcers in the past year and none of them have ever insisted on a VAT number (some have asked but when I told them I didn't have one it was no big deal - I got paid regardless with no fuss).

I'm not an expert from what I was told and from what I've read, there are more disadvantages than advantages for a sole trader to register for it unnecessarily.

Russell Jones  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Italian to English
Title Nov 8, 2012

Hi Helena

I've edited the title of your thread, because registering for VAT or not and being a company or sole trader are two entirely separate issues (in the UK where you are).
Both companies and sole traders can choose whether or not to register if their annual turnover is below the threshold.

Di Penney  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
French to English
Disadvantages that spring immediately to mind... Nov 8, 2012

Apart from the increase in paperwork, if you have customers in the UK who are not VAT registered you are effectively increasing the price you charge to them by 20% (unlike VAT- registered customers, they are unable to reclaim the amount as VAT input).