Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Considering moving from US to EU in the next 5 years, what are the fiscal and other considerations?
Thread poster: Robert Long

Robert Long  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:17
Member (2012)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Dec 20, 2012

Hello everyone,

I'm a freelance translator residing here in Houston, TX, where I've lived for about 6 years now. I'm currently saving money and growing my business, and I've been thinking a lot about pursuing my dream to move to Europe where, after having travelled there on several occasions, I feel I'd be quite happy with the quality of life it would offer. And yes, I'm aware its quite expensive, especially in the big cities.

My question is twofold. For one, as a US citizen but self-employed individual what sort of consideration would need to be taken in regards to immigration/dual citizenship. I imagine the work/residence permit/visa situation would be different since I would not require a company to sponsor me (as I'd essentially be sponsoring myself). The second question is in regards to taxes. I currently set aside about 25% of my income for taxes and after any appropriate business deductions and what not this gets the job done. Obviously EU taxes are higher than those here in the US, so any ideas about where would be the most desirable?

Another factor has come to mind, and that is the currency issue. With the pound and euro stronger than the dollar, I frequently make more money per word from jobs coming from the EU than I do in jobs paid in dollars. If I move to the EU, I will of course experience the reverse of this, with all my US work providing less relative weight once converted to EUROS.

The countries I'm contemplating are:

Portugal
Spain
Catalunya
France (though I'm aware they have quite high taxes)
Germany
The Netherlands
Italy
Austria

Any advice on any of the above questions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank yoU!

Direct link Reply with quote

Giuseppina Gatta, MA (Hons)