Freelancing for a company based in Switzerland
Thread poster: aureliejeanne

aureliejeanne  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 15:49
English to French
Mar 8, 2013

Hi all,

I am a French freelance translator living in the UK and have been freelancing in this country for about 3 years after working as an in-house translator in London for 9 years. Most of my clients are based in the UK or in a EU country but this week I received a request from a potential direct client based in Geneva, Switzerland, who would be very interested in using my services. The problem is that I have never worked for a client based outside of the EU and I do not know how this would work and if we are allowed to work outside of the EU. Has anyone based in the UK or a EU country already worked or is working for a company based in Switzerland?

I am particularly interested in knowing how to deal with the tax system. How much income tax will I have to pay? Will I have to pay a custom fee, since I would be exporting a service outside of the EU? Is there anything else that I need to take into account? Would you know of an official website explaining about the procedures to follow when exporting a service outside of the EU? I have done some research on the Internet but could not find the answers that I am looking for. Any clarifications, advice and help would be much appreciated! Many thanks in advance. Best regards.

Aurelie

Philippe Etienne  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 16:49
English to French
Your customer's country doesn't make any difference Mar 8, 2013

aureliejeanne wrote:
...I am particularly interested in knowing how to deal with the tax system. How much income tax will I have to pay? Will I have to pay a custom fee, since I would be exporting a service outside of the EU? Is there anything else that I need to take into account? Would you know of an official website explaining about the procedures to follow when exporting a service outside of the EU?