Price to ask for a 20-page literary translation for non-commercial purposes
Thread poster: EnricaNA

EnricaNA
Local time: 20:56
English to Italian
+ ...
Mar 20, 2013

Hello everybody,

I am a graduate student in Translation (University of Bologna at Forlì, Italy), a few months away from getting my MA, and I already have a BA in Translation and Interpreting. I have recently been asked to translate from English into Italian a 20-page excerpt from a novel on 16th century Italian art. The excerpt is a very long monologue, and my client is an American post-doctorate who does acting and would like to learn the monologue in Italian and perform it in an informal setting in Italy later this year. He's asked and obtained permission from both the author and the publisher. However, we both are unsure about pricing. I myself have never done such a long literary translation work, being still a student; my mentor suggested $20 per double-spaced page, but she wasn't sure either. Most importantly, my client is paying out of his own pocket and might not be willing to pay such a price (it would turn out to be close to $400 for a non-commercial translation).

Do you have any suggestion? This guy cares a lot about this project and I really want to help him in the best way possible, including asking for a reasonable price even if it were lower than I could expect.

Thank you for your help!

Enrica

lisa kramer taruschio  Identity Verified
United States
Italian to English
Formulate negotiable estimate by word count Mar 20, 2013

Enrica, to get to a somewhat objective starting point in finding a fee for this fellow, figure this way: start with a per word count (on Word from source text); for someone who can pay but isn't rich, the fee might be might be .10 euro cents per word (figured on the source text).