English Portuguese interpretation rates
Thread poster: Ligia Costa

Ligia Costa
Brazil
Local time: 02:41
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Mar 21, 2013

A potential employer asked me to tell him my English < > Portuguese interpretation rates without specifying what the job is and under which conditions. Since I don't have experience interpreting, I don't know exactly what to ask for. I am a native Brazilian translator with a BA in Linguistics from an American college, specialized in Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. Here are the questions I'd like to ask you:

a. What are the minimum and average rates for English Portuguese interpretation?
b. How does experience (or the lack of it) affect an interpreter's hourly rates?
c. Do different fields of expertise reflect extremely different pay rates, as I've seen for translation jobs?
d. Do you charge lost wages for excessive time of transportation?

Thank you very much for your input!

Ligia.

Direct link Reply with quote

Carlos Saiz  Identity Verified
Brazil
Spanish to Portuguese
+ ...
Valores de referência no site do SINTRA Mar 22, 2013

Ligia,

Você pode dar uma olhada no site do SINTRA:
http://www.sintra.org.br/site/index.php?p=c&pag=precos

Boa sorte!

Carlos

LilianNekipelov  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 23:41
Russian to English
+ ...
Hi, Ligia Mar 22, 2013

The answer is simple -- an interpreter without any experience cannot usually interpret because it is not enough to know two languages well to be able to interpret, unless the person took many interpreting courses and has hours of practice.

The average rates for interpreting in the US are between $25-$200/hr, depending on the type of interpreting and experience to some extent-- simply less experienced interpreters will never be asked to handle complex conference interpreting, or court interpreting which pay the most.