Déborah Essers-Jansen  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 14:19
Member (2007)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Apr 23, 2013

Hi,

One of my clients asked me if I would be available to supervise an exam in the neighbourhood. She asks for my rate for this supervision task and my rate for the travel time (not travel costs). I have no experience in such tasks, so can someone advise me what rates are reasonable? Can I use the same hourly rate as I use for translation/proofreading or would that be ridiculous? Also, how do I calculate a rate for travel time?

Thanks!
Déborah

Direct link Reply with quote

Marie-Helene Dubois  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2011)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Hourly rate Apr 23, 2013

Hi Déborah,

I have no experience with exam supervision but I would be inclined to charge my hourly rate for anything like this. The beauty of the hourly rate is that it's a rate that you're happy to get for the time it takes you to do something, regardless of what that something is.
I think that if I were to look at it from a client's point of view, I'd find it strange if someone charged different hourly rates for different things. It's the time I'd be paying for, not the thing done in that time.
I would simply start the clock running when leaving my house and stop the clock when I get back.

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 13:19
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
My 2 cents Apr 23, 2013

I've done this on a couple of occasions, when I was also working as an EFL teacher. I charged my hourly teaching rate, which was a fair bit higher than my translation/proofreading hourly rate. This was because I didn't charge for travel time and expenses separately, these were just an element in the hourly rate.