Non-Payment Advice Needed
Thread poster: Leah Hunt

Leah Hunt
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:27
German to English
May 22, 2013

Hi all

I'm pretty new to freelancing but thankfully so far I have only had one agency (based, as I am, in the UK if this helps) which will not pay.

I invoiced this company for four jobs, one of which was due to be paid at the end of March, the others at the end of April. When I didn't receive payment for the first job, I emailed the accounts manager and got no response. I then contacted the PM who told me that the accounts manager was on holiday but I'd be paid soon. I emailed both people a few further times but didn't receive any response. I tried calling them but the phone rang out each time.

A couple of weeks ago I put a review and non-payment alert on the company on the BB, which is still the only review on there. This would have been a warning sign if I'd have known about the BB when I signed up with them! I then emailed the company again advising I'd take further action if I wasn't paid immediately, but again no response.

I finally managed to get through on the phone today to the PM. He said that he "would love to" pay me but one of their main clients (not one I'd done work for) has gone bankrupt. I made the point I've seen on here a few times, that they should pay me the money owed regardless, but he did not respond. I couldn't get him to give me a firm date when they would pay despite numerous attempts and eventually gave up.

I did mention to him that I'd been investigating debt collection agencies. For this £165 debt, I've been quoted £40 if the agency pays, otherwise no fees.

Does anyone have any advice of any other roads to go down before getting a debt collector involved?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

John Fossey  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 15:27
Member (2008)
French to English
Debt collection May 22, 2013