Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
An agency requires lowering my rates --- How to respond :-)? ...
Thread poster: Michal Surmař

Michal Surmař  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 06:41
Member (2010)
English to Czech
+ ...
May 22, 2013

Hiya all,

sorry to bother you --- my first topic on ProZ. Apologies in advance for any novel-like descriptions but I’m a bit upset and lost about what to do next.

I was asked to lower my rates for a particular client/agency and this is the first time ever it has happened to me.

Sooooo:

I’ve been working for this agency for a while (2 years) and I thought they appreciate that creative work (marketing etc.) + the additional service of updating the client’s glossary from time to time. That’s why the rate has been slightly higher than the "standard" one. All those 2 years.

A few days ago, a new project manager came in (probably a back-up) and the price went down by a few cents. Out of the blue. I applied the same price as before, I was asked reasons for "increasing" my rate and I replied by saying that I use the same rate.

Now, the original project manager came back and I keep receiving what I find slightly aggressive e-mails (e.g. multiple exclamation marks used) about the need to lower my rates as they are too high for this "regular" client.

A few other notes: this agency used to apply what might be called "a minimum rate". They cancelled about 3 months ago and a "price per word" system is now used even with small jobs. And now comes a request to lower my rates. The last sentence in their e-mail also says that the rate should be even lower than the standard rate because it is a regular client ...

Some ideas about what to do now:
- do nothing and wait,
- quit the cooperation and tell them to find someone else,
- lower the rate to the "standard" one and stop performing additional services (= updating the glossary),
- lower the quality accordingly icon_biggrin.gif (unthinkable),
- something else.