Thread poster: kalisi
kalisi
United States
Local time: 05:44
Italian to English
+ ...
Jun 2, 2013

Hello everyone,
This might be a silly question that I should ask at a bank or something. But you seem like a friendly community so I thought I'd try:
I am new to online business, and have never bought, sold or paid anything online. I always used checks or cash. Now I am wondering: how does this online payment work? I have a debit card. How does one use a debit card online?
Thank you in advance.
God bless,
Kalisi

Direct link Reply with quote

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 11:44
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
What specifically do you want to do? Jun 2, 2013

Are you wanting to get paid for your translations? Or is it something not related to translation?

Russell Jones  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:44
Italian to English
Simple Jun 2, 2013

Hi Kalisi

An online company or trader that accepts card payments will ask you to input your details. Before doing so, check that it is a secure page (a URL beginning https and / or a lock symbol at the foot of the page).

They will normally ask you to input your name, as it appears on the card, the card number, date of expiry, sometimes date valid from and the CVC (Card Verification Code - last 3 numbers on the back of the card).

They may also ask for your address, telephone number and / or e-mail address.

When you confirm, there may be a further authorisation stage when your bank asks you to input some of the same information and / or a password (which they will ask you to specify the first time you use the card online). The money is then debited from your bank account.

HTH

[Edited at 2013-06-02 13:43 GMT]

Yolanda Broad  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:44
Member (2000)
French to English
+ ...

You are located in the US? Jun 2, 2013

Hello,