Rate for translating a kids' math game from English to Spanish?
Thread poster: Nina Halperin

Nina Halperin
United States
Local time: 06:20
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jul 8, 2013

Hello fellow translators,

I was recently hired to translate a math game for elementary school students from English to Spanish. The company asked me to look over the game and let them know my rate. It seems like the type of project for which I would just give them a flat fee as opposed to charging by word or by hour. However, since I'm new to the industry, I'm very unsure of what to charge--I don't want to end up charging too little or, conversely, suggesting a ridiculously high fee. I know the rate might be hard to ascertain without seeing the game, but essentially I would be translating the box, one page of frequently asked questions, one page of "quick start" directions, one page detailing what comes in a deck, a four page mini pamphlet with more detailed instructions and rules, and a few words that come on the cards and the score pad (around 1900 words in total). Does anyone have any suggestions or know someone who might? I would really appreciate it! Thank you so much!

Best,
Nina

564354352 (X)  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 12:20
Danish to English
+ ...
Don't undercharge, whatever you do Jul 9, 2013

My approach would probably be to just charge a standard word rate. However, that would probably be to undercharge for something that the client is likely to make a lot of money from. Just consider how many hundreds, if not thousands, of units of this game will be sold to Spanish-speaking elementary schools or students. Your translation fee is just a tiny drop in the water in this connection, so you could see it as a case of ensuring yourself some kind of 'royalties' by proposing quite a high rate for the job, maybe even twice your standard rate. That will also leave you some room for negotiation.

Noura Tawil  Identity Verified
Syria
Local time: 13:20
Member (2013)