Payments using invoice date or the end of the month?
Thread poster: Animus

Animus  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 20:11
French to English
+ ...
Jul 19, 2013

Hi, I recently did some work for an Italian agency and agreed to 60 day payment terms despite not normally doing this as it was only a small job and I was looking to expand the agencies I work with. I invoiced for the job and received a PO with the same terms.

Payment is now overdue by 5 days, which I contacted them about telling them that if the invoice was not paid by a certain date they would incur fees and interest according to UK legislation. They have since sent me an email (after not having paid by the date I stated) and receiving my confirmation that fees would be charged, informing me that the invoice date is counted as the end of the month of that invoice according to Italian law and that I will receive payment at the end of the month.

Now I'm not an expert on Italian payment law, but I'd say that sounds like an excuse, or a downright lie to me. Given that 60 day payment terms are already barely acceptable, I'm not prepared to receive payment within 75 days when I only begrudgingly agreed to 60 days in the first place.

Does anyone have any suggestions regarding this, either relating to the validity of their statement, or how I can get them pay up for the work completed and possibly (though I know this may be a stretch) for the additional fees they have now incurred?

Thanks for your help!

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
IMHO, it's a sign of disrespect and malpractice Jul 19, 2013