Thread poster: Shooting
Shooting
Mauritius
Local time: 16:28
French to English
+ ...
Aug 15, 2013

Hello,

Are services (translations) provided to international organizations exempt from tax? In other words, am I exempted from declaring the revenue I obtain from them?

I am a freelance translator whose main clients, since one year, have been international organizations to which my country is a member State. What I gather from various sources is that the services provided to any I.O are exempted from income tax. I would like confirmation on this matter please. Thank you.

Direct link Reply with quote

Jenn Mercer  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:28
Member (2009)
French to English
Probably not Aug 15, 2013

I am not sure who your various sources are, but this is going to depend entirely on local tax law. In the United States, or rather for a U.S. citizen, regardless of where you reside[1], there is no such exemption. It looks like you're in the U.K., start here: http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/. If you don't want to read that, find an accountant.

[1]f you are a U.S. citizen or resident alien, the rules for filing income, estate, and gift tax returns and paying estimated tax are generally the same whether you are in the United States or abroad. Your worldwide income is subject to U.S. income tax, regardless of where you reside.

philgoddard
United States
Member (2009)
German to English
+ ...
No. Aug 15, 2013

It's possible they may be exempt from paying tax, but I can't imagine any European country (and you don't say where you live) exempting you as a supplier. It's still income, whatever its source.

Nicole Coesel  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 14:28
Member (2012)
Dutch to English
+ ...
It depends Aug 15, 2013

It all depends on where you are situated (read: the country where you have established a VAT and/or COC number) and on where your clients are based/to what country they let you send your invoice.