Ketty Federico  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 14:16
Member (2011)
German to Italian
+ ...
Sep 24, 2013

Hi everyone,

disclaimer to my question: I might be stating something wrong, I will report just what I was told and ask you to help me verify whether this is true or not.

Until now, I have always only worked with clients and agencies based in Europe (I am an Italian translator based in Germany). Also when I was working with clients overseas, they always also had an european subsidiary or partner company for invoicing purposes.

I now have contacts with some US based agencies and more than one colleague told me that "all payments received from overseas are TAX FREE" and that you can receive them on your paypal/bank account and these are not subject to any taxation.

I found this pretty strange, so...

Questions:

1) Do you know whether this is true or not, and could you provide some legal support to this?

2) Does this mean that those payments do not need to be declared?

I hope that I am not saying something completely wrong (but my colleagues sounded quite sure about that) and I thank you and appreciate your help.

Direct link Reply with quote

Nicole Schnell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:16
English to German
+ ...
It means that no taxes will be withheld by your US-customer. Sep 24, 2013

You still have to declare all of your income, no matter where it came from.

HTH

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 13:16
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
My experience Sep 24, 2013

I've had one US client who paid me substantial amounts, and they got me to sign a W8 form to register me as a "non-US" supplier (can't remember the exact term). This meant that they didn't have to withhold a significant portion of my fee to cover possible US taxes. But it didn't mean my local government didn't want to get its hands on the money!