VAT and other taxes for invoices
Thread poster: jennnifersteine
jennnifersteine
United States
French to English
+ ...
Oct 6, 2013

Hi,

I'm an American living in the US and just started freelancing translation/communications services for a French company based in France.

I registered as a sole proprietor for a business permit in my local town in California. I'm new to freelancing and when I started using a freelance template site (freshbooks) to invoice my client it asked for the VAT number.

I've done an internet search and it's all gotten rather messy and confusing. As an American, based in the US, do I need the VAT number? Do I charge sales tax (I live in California)? My understanding before is that I will just need to fill out a 1099 at the end of the tax year.

If anyone has any information on this, I would more than appreciate! Also, if there is any simple 'how-to' document for all of this tax stuff that has been helpful to anyone out there, that would be great too! Feeling a bit lost!

Thank you,
Jennifer

Direct link Reply with quote

JL01  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 19:40
English to French
+ ...
NO VAT Oct 6, 2013

You are a business located outside of the EU. VAT issues do not concern you. You can't get a VAT number, anyway, precisely because you are outside of the EU.

LEXpert  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 18:40
Member (2008)
Croatian to English
+ ...
Some answers Oct 6, 2013

jennnifersteine wrote:

I've done an internet search and it's all gotten rather messy and confusing.

Not everything on the internet is reliable. Sole proprietorships are very really simple.

As an American, based in the US, do I need the VAT number? Do I charge sales tax (I live in California)?

In short: No and No. It should be obvious to your French client that, as a US entity, you neither have nor need a VAT number. Just explain that to them, or write n/a if it's just a line item on a form.