https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/257933-japanese_toenglish_translation_price_per_1000_words.html

Japanese toEnglish Translation price per 1000 words
Thread poster: Stuart Carthy
Stuart Carthy
Stuart Carthy  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 06:48
Japanese to English
Oct 16, 2013

Hello

I'm a Japanese to English translator and have so far only worked in Japan (I am English, based in Japan).

I want to move into the UK market, so I'm looking for an idea of what the average is for 1000 English words translated from Japanese.

I know that some replies will say 'depends on so many factors' but ... any pointers?

From the research I've done it looks like at the higher end skilled translators with a ton of experience are chargi
... See more
Hello

I'm a Japanese to English translator and have so far only worked in Japan (I am English, based in Japan).

I want to move into the UK market, so I'm looking for an idea of what the average is for 1000 English words translated from Japanese.

I know that some replies will say 'depends on so many factors' but ... any pointers?

From the research I've done it looks like at the higher end skilled translators with a ton of experience are charging up to £160.00. I'm a thorough worker but all the same I think I should be charging less than that for now. Of course, I don't want to set my prices too low as they will be difficult to increase.

Any help will be much appreciated

[Edited at 2013-10-16 05:59 GMT]

[Edited at 2013-10-16 06:18 GMT]

[Edited at 2013-10-16 06:25 GMT]
Collapse

Orrin Cummins
Orrin Cummins  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 06:48
Japanese to English
+ ...
What field? Oct 16, 2013

Also, I assume that by "1000 words" you mean of course 1000 characters (kanji)?