Do you perform re-work based on client feedback?
Thread poster: PatentTrans
PatentTrans
United States
Local time: 21:19
Chinese to English
Nov 1, 2013

I'm still new to this profession and want to find out what the normal practice is. Do you deliver a translation and that is the end of it or do your clients want to give you some feedbacks and have you re-work the translation? How do you charge for the re-work? Technically if your translation is reasonably correct then if the clients have preferences should they do the editing/fine-tuning themselves?

Direct link Reply with quote

JL01  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 22:19
English to French
+ ...
see below Nov 1, 2013

PatentTrans wrote:

I'm still new to this profession and want to find out what the normal practice is. Do you deliver a translation and that is the end of it YES

or do your clients want to give you some feedbacks and have you re-work the translation?

How do you charge for the re-work? TIME SPENT

Technically if your translation is reasonably correct then if the clients have preferences should they do the editing/fine-tuning themselves? YYEESSSSS! If they have preferences, they should state them before work is tarted.

But I speak for myself only!

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 03:19
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Do it themselves? Nov 1, 2013

They often don't speak the lingo - that's why they hire us. Of course, it may be different with agency clients but on the whole translators don't like other people messing with their translations.