working as a freelance translator and moving to eastern europe
Thread poster: Alexandre Doria

Alexandre Doria
Netherlands
Local time: 10:31
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Nov 13, 2013

I'm a newbie, my target language is PT-BR, and translation initially will be my second job. But in the long
run, if things get better, I was thinking of moving from where I am now to one of the "new" EU countries. I was wondering if anyone here is located in Poland, CR or Hungary for example and could advise on the tax issue in those countries.
To be entirely honest, if I make the move eastwards, I intend to find a part-time "first" job and continue having translation as my secondary source of income."

Thanks,

Alex

Direct link Reply with quote

EvaVer  Identity Verified
Member (2012)
Czech to English
+ ...
CZ Nov 13, 2013

Well, as to tax - you will have to pay income tax (15% at this time). For a translator, it is mostly worthwhile to use fixed-rate deductible expenses - the percentage has been changing lately from year to year, between 40-60%, it might end at 30%. You will also have to pay Social Security and Medical Insurance (2 separate systems). As your target language has little use locally, you will work for foreign clients - to do so within the EU, you will need to register as an "identified person" for VAT purposes - i.e., obtain a VAT number, and file VAT returns for your EU (non-CZ) business (but the VAT will be paid by your clients). There are 2 papers to fill in for a month with EU business - one online, but you must print out a confirmation paper, sign it and file it physically (if no e-signature), the other one is easier to file on paper if you have no e-signature (which might become compulsory soon anyway).
To start with, you will have to go to the "živnostenský úřad" to obtain a "živnostenský list" (trade licence). Then you must register with the Revenue, Social Security, a Medical Insurance company (there are several).
Good luck!

Alexandre Doria
Netherlands