How do I create an invoice?
Thread poster: Muiris Ó Fiannachta
Muiris Ó Fiannachta
Muiris Ó Fiannachta
Local time: 17:16
Irish to English
+ ...
Oct 25, 2004

I realise that this must be a pretty ridiculous query, but I've just completed my first freelance job, and have been asked by the client to send him an invoice. As I'm completely new to this, I don't really know where to start. Would a normal Word document suffice or should I use some other programme to create an invoice, and what specific details need to be included?
Thanks for your help.

Siegfried Armbruster
Siegfried Armbruster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 18:16
English to German
+ ...
In memoriam
Congrats Oct 25, 2004

Congratulations, first job completed and being asked to send an invoice. You should be happy.

What does your client want? A lot depends on the answer to this question.
I normally just send a word document (normally by email, by surface mail only if required) that is made up of the following data:
My address,
my tax id

Client address
client tax id

Invoice number
Invoice date,

service provided
Translation or
... See more
Congratulations, first job completed and being asked to send an invoice. You should be happy.

What does your client want? A lot depends on the answer to this question.
I normally just send a word document (normally by email, by surface mail only if required) that is made up of the following data:
My address,
my tax id

Client address
client tax id

Invoice number
Invoice date,

service provided
Translation or proofreading
file name(s) of file(s)processed
word count of processed files
invoice amount calculation (Words X price/word)
(VAT amount if required,) and Total

my bank details (or Paypal/Moneybrookers etc)
IBAN and BIC for international customers

Thanks and pleasure to work with you etc.

I wish you that writing invoices will soon be a routine job for you and that all customers are going to pay you in time

Siggi
Collapse

davidgreen
davidgreen