How does word count work? Help please
Thread poster: bello82

bello82
Local time: 02:35
English to Italian
+ ...
Dec 2, 2013

Dear professionals,

I am still a student and still new with regard to the translation profession. II thought I could ask some professionals here. I have been given assignments by a company: I will have to translate their FAQ pages into Italian and I see it as a great opportunity to gain experience. The assignments are obviously paid.

They have sent me some Excel files and they counted 12, 555 words. Column A has the English text between tags for HTML purposes and they also took repetitions into account. There are some portions of text that have 4 words in English in column A but when I translate into Italian it becomes 7 words in Column B; 76 words in English become 95 in Italian.

I am not sure how I will get paid. Will they pay me by the word count they decided? Or do I have to send an estimate by the new word count that comes up when I translate?
Could you please clarify that for me?

Jenn Mercer  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 21:35
Member (2009)
French to English
Clarify before starting Dec 2, 2013

No matter what they pay you, you need to establish this in writing BEFORE you start translation. It should come out to a good hourly wage for a professional in your area whether it is expressed in source or target words, characters, lines, cells, or a per project basis.

bello82
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you Jenn for your reply Dec 2, 2013

I am just trying to understand how it usually works. it doesn't really matter how and how much they pay for me. I have a nice job and am still studying, so I don't need the money. I am doing it out of passion for languages. I would like to learn how word counts really works.

PAS  Identity Verified
Local time: 03:35
English to Polish
+ ...
Clarify Dec 2, 2013

To emphasise part of Jenn's response:

There are two common ways of getting paid for a written translation: