Thread poster: Stéphanie Denton
Stéphanie Denton  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:18
French to English
+ ...
Dec 6, 2013

Hi all

I haven't posted in a long time, but could really do with advice and opinions please.

Unfortunately, back in September, I was forced to declare myself personally bankrupt due to my partner taking out credit in my name without my knowledge. Subsequently, as sole Director, I was forced to close my agency.

I started trading as a sole trader again in August, and provided one of my long-standing clients with my new bank details. Everything was fine, they paid me in August and in September, on time, as per usual.

Then in October my payment was late. I contacted them and they sent me proof of payment. They told me that one project had been queried by the client (which was true, but they were supposed to send a glossary which never happened) and it would be paid on the next month's pay run. I re-issued an invoice minus said project (and stated my discontent at being informed of the matter in excess of 30 days post project delivery and after the invoice due date...) and it was paid but no payment came through, so I requested proof of payment. It transpired that they had sent the payment to the old Company's account in error instead of my personal account which they had previously paid twice. As far as I was concerned, and in the opinion of the official receiver, the Company's bank account should have been closed upon receipt of the notice of bankruptcy. Unfortunately, this bank did not close the account and the 2000€ that was sent in error was eaten by the Company's overdraft. I spoke to a solicitor who informed me that the agency could claim the money back but that they still owed me the money. I obviously informed the agency of this and they have since refused to work with me again. I have commenced legal proceedings to recuperate the monies owing to me for this invoice.