Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Clients who pay proper rates: where have they gone?
Thread poster: Justin Taylor
Justin Taylor
Justin Taylor  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:38
French to English
Dec 11, 2013

Dear ProZ family,

FR>EN translator here, mostly film/TV, lit, marketing and general communications. Big question I imagine many of us are aksing: where are the clients that pay proper rates? I have been translating for seven years for .15 USD on average. I took a break over the past two years to focus on studies and writing. Now I'm back in the game and I can't even find a client who will accept .10 USD. Am I dreaming? I would love some advice on how to find the clients that are sti
... See more
Dear ProZ family,

FR>EN translator here, mostly film/TV, lit, marketing and general communications. Big question I imagine many of us are aksing: where are the clients that pay proper rates? I have been translating for seven years for .15 USD on average. I took a break over the past two years to focus on studies and writing. Now I'm back in the game and I can't even find a client who will accept .10 USD. Am I dreaming? I would love some advice on how to find the clients that are still paying what's workable.

I don't use Wordfast or Trados as the writing I work with tends to require a literary ear for style and voice, you know, the thing a translator is hired for. Are clients honestly believing they can get an equivalent document by asking .05 because a computer did half of it for me already? Are quality standards simply lowering?

I'm imagining others have faced similar situations. What do you do?

Kind Regards,
Justin
Collapse

philgoddard
philgoddard
United States
German to English
+ ...
How many clients have refused to pay your rates? Dec 11, 2013