https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/26183-what_is_w_8_form_certificate_of_foreign_status_used_for.html

What is W-8 Form Certificate of Foreign Status used for?
Thread poster: SandraV
SandraV
SandraV  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 17:34
Member (2004)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Oct 30, 2004

Hi,

I'm a Mexican translator and I have just been sent an "IRS Form W-8 Certificate of Foreign Status" by a USA agency. They say it is indispensable to fill it out and sign it in order to start working for them. As this is the first time I'm being asked to do so, I am confused and want to know if signing this form would have any negative implications for me or if it is a common procedure, maybe a lot of agencies ask to sign this form, but I need to know what is the use of signing it
... See more
Hi,

I'm a Mexican translator and I have just been sent an "IRS Form W-8 Certificate of Foreign Status" by a USA agency. They say it is indispensable to fill it out and sign it in order to start working for them. As this is the first time I'm being asked to do so, I am confused and want to know if signing this form would have any negative implications for me or if it is a common procedure, maybe a lot of agencies ask to sign this form, but I need to know what is the use of signing it and if there's someone who has experience with this and can explain it to me.I´ll appreciate your comments.
Thanks
Sandy
Collapse

Trudy Peters
Trudy Peters  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 19:34
German to English
+ ...
W-8 Oct 30, 2004

If you go to the www.irs.gov site, you will find a better explanation that I could give you.

It basically means that no taxes will be withheld from your pay, because you're not a US-citizen.

Trudy

Natalie
Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 01:34
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...

SITE LOCALIZER
- Oct 30, 2004

Trudy Peters wrote:
It basically means that no taxes will be withheld from your pay, because you're not a US-citizen.