Thread poster: Grace Shalhoub

Grace Shalhoub  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 19:04
French to English
+ ...
Feb 19, 2014

Hello!
I am a freelance translator based in France. Untill now I only had French clients/agencies and did not worry about invoicing.

I am starting to be in contact with international clients and I am quite lost in terms of invoicing.

Direct wire would probably cost the client additional costs, Paypal charges both them (10$ per transfer) and around 4% for me.

My questions:
- What methods do you use?
- Do you trust receiving a cheque? A US client suggested this. Is this common practice. I asked my bank and they said I had to pay 17€ minimum for every cheque!
- How do you handle these additional costs?

Thank you in advance for your input.

Grace

Jean Lachaud  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 13:04
English to French
+ ...
Checks are common in the USA Feb 19, 2014

Indeed, payment by check (not cheque) is the common form of payment in the USA. And, indeed, international payment by checks is not free. International bank transfers are also not free. PayPal is expensive, too, as well as other means of payment.

It is up to you to decide what you want to do, but in essence you have realized now that there is no free lunch.

Me, I have been refusing for years to work for European customers, not only because of the above costs, but also because of the length of time required for payment by French businesses.

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 18:04
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Cheque is normally a poor choice Feb 19, 2014

It might be great for a US citizen to receive a cheque drawn on a US bank, but it isn't so for others. 17€ is very cheap, in my experience, plus it will take up to three weeks to clear on top of postal time.