Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
How to compete against experience and LOW rates? (rant warning)
Thread poster: Elda Veiga
Elda Veiga
Elda Veiga  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 04:41
English to Portuguese
Mar 5, 2014

Hi everyone,

I have been working as a freelance translator since 2011, and I believe I have amassed a reasonable working experience that enables me to request a reasonable rate as well. Until today I considered myself not a bottom-feeder, but somehow close to it, since the rates I ask are a beginner's rate (not for my specialization, though, those rates are better).
And yet, today I discovered another freelancer with 10+ years of experience willing to translate a 85k book for
... See more
Hi everyone,

I have been working as a freelance translator since 2011, and I believe I have amassed a reasonable working experience that enables me to request a reasonable rate as well. Until today I considered myself not a bottom-feeder, but somehow close to it, since the rates I ask are a beginner's rate (not for my specialization, though, those rates are better).
And yet, today I discovered another freelancer with 10+ years of experience willing to translate a 85k book for 800 USD - no royalty split, pay-for-hire, probably even losing moral rights.
How do I compete against that? Less than $0.01 per word, offering an expert service. Yes, I know that if someone's willing to work for this rate, the client will take the offer, but my question is why someone would work for such pay? The person in case lives in the same city, so the overhead costs don't get into play here, they'll be similar.
I'm simply stunned.
Collapse

Wen Bing
Wen Bing
China
Local time: 11:41
English to Chinese
+ ...
Is it because it is harder to find projects nowadays? Mar 5, 2014