Rebeca Martín Lorenzo  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 04:14
Member (2014)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Mar 15, 2014

Dear colleagues,

I would very much appreciate your advice on this. I should reply to an agency's proposal for payment terms on Monday or Tuesday at the latest. These are the facts:

I have been offered an EN-ES translation project of over 100.000 words - approx. 447 standard pages of 1500 characters without spaces in total, consisting of 2 units of 223 pages approx. each - by an agency for which I have never worked before.
I have done some research and found several reports of very late payments, including 8 out of 13 in the Blue Board, although most of them date from 2004-2005, and one from 2008.
3 people reported payment on time, though.

In the course of the selection procedure and negotiations, we agreed on a certain rate per standard page of 1500 characters at the end of January.
As a final step in their selection procedure, I (and other candidates) did an unpaid sample translation for the end client. Two sample translations received positive feedback from the client, including mine.

They now would like to assign the job to me if I agree to a reduced rate i.e. the same price I quoted for one page of 1500 characters, but for each page of 1800 characters instead.

I have replied that I stick to the rate as previously agreed, and I suggested that in any case we should agree on certain terms of payment, including perhaps an advance payment and then partial payments upon partial deliveries, considering the high volume of the project and the fact that I have never worked for them before.

They have made the following proposal for payment terms (insisting, however, that "in turn" I reduce my rate to some extent):

10% advance payment for each unit.

30% payment within 15 days after I deliver the first part of each unit.

60% payment within 15 days after I delivery the second part of each unit.