Ritenuta d’acconto
Thread poster: garrett higgins
garrett higgins
Local time: 22:33
Italian to English
Mar 19, 2014

Hi. I am a translator in Ireland. I did a job for an Italian company who are now asking me to fill out a 'Notula OCCASIONALE' in which they have the gross figure agreed - a 20% 'Ritenuta d’acconto' and a net fee. Is this right?
thanks, Garrett

Direct link Reply with quote

2G Trad  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 23:33
Member (2000)
English to Italian
+ ...
Where do you pay taxes? Mar 20, 2014

Hi Garrett,

unless you pay taxes in Italy, your client is not right.

The 'ritenuta d'acconto' amount can be applied only to tax payers in Italy, since it is a witholding tax the client gives to Italian tax administration on behalf of the tax payer (the freelance translator in this case).
The tax payer then deducts this amount from his own tax bill.

Obviously, tax payers in other countries will never be able to deduct this advance tax payment (ritenuta d'acconto) since they don't pay taxes in Italy.

You can tell your client you will issue an invoice in accordance to your country tax laws (without the 'ritenuta d'acconto'), since you are not subjet to Italian tax laws.

Bye!
Gianni

garrett higgins
Local time: 22:33
Italian to English
TOPIC STARTER
help! Mar 28, 2014

thanks, Gianni, the client is insisting and now thinks it may be 30%.
Do you know where I can get a link or documentation to prove them wrong (in Italian). Cheers....

Italy
Member (2000)
English to Italian
+ ...
Burden of proof Mar 28, 2014

garrett higgins:
thanks, Gianni, the client is insisting and now thinks it may be 30%.
Do you know where I can get a link or documentation to prove them wrong (in Italian). Cheers....

Hi Garrett,
you should ask them which is the Italian law (legge + articolo + comma) allowing them to deduct 30% from the invoice of a translator who is:
- Irish citizen
- Irish resident
- working from Ireland

Cheers!
Gianni

Giles Watson  Identity Verified
Italy