Rates for full day instant interpreting...
Thread poster: Morten Alme

Morten Alme

English to Norwegian
Apr 25, 2014

As a writer, I have done mostly subtitling, and other translations. Never any instant translations. Now, I got a potential customer who offers me a two weeks job in Belfast.

What would be the norm for a decent rate here, and would it be not too far fetched to have them foot the expenses as travel, food and accommodation?

I lived in Belfast for more than 3 years some years ago. Almost got married there. It would be strange to come back to the town that educated me as a writer. Should I demand extra for any possible emotional impact on the trip as well?

Thanks for all advice

Philippe Etienne  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 20:44
English to French
A different matter Apr 28, 2014

Morten Alme wrote:
As a writer, I have done mostly subtitling, and other translations. Never any instant translations. Now, I got a potential customer who offers me a two weeks job in Belfast.

In my opinion, (written) translation and (spoken) interpreting are very different activities, which require a different set of skills, whatever your proficiency in languages.

I wouldn't assume that I can do interpreting because I can translate.
Morten Alme wrote:
Should I demand extra for any possible emotional impact on the trip as well?

Nice one!
It is a joke, right?

Philippe

Morten Alme

English to Norwegian
TOPIC STARTER
Rates and jokes Apr 28, 2014

Philippe Etienne wrote:

Morten Alme wrote:

In my opinion, (written) translation and (spoken) interpreting are very different activities, which require a different set of skills, whatever your proficiency in languages.

Morten Alme wrote:

Nice one!
It is a joke, right?

Philippe

Thanks

But not much information I could use for the potensial Client.