PO in an email?
Thread poster: Jekaterina Kotelnikova

Jekaterina Kotelnikova  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 15:41
English to Russian
+ ...
Jun 2, 2014

Hello! I have a question, as I have had a negative experience previously working for an agency without a PO and then trying to get paid, now I have a new project proposal - interpreting. The client (also an agency) sent me an email where the sum is written and their payment guidelines and they tell me that I should consider it as a PO. I am not willing to go through the same thing again and beg to be payed. Besides for this assignment first I have to spend about 200 EUR for the travel and accommodation expenses (which I have to organize myself, which I have never done before, everything was always done by the client) and get payed later.

Can anyone tell me if I should ask for a normal PO? And what should they write there? This is the first time I am working with them so...

Inna Borymova  Identity Verified
Local time: 17:41
Member (2013)
English to Russian
+ ...
Decline if you are not happy with that Jun 2, 2014

Have you checked the company on the BB? If not, do this. You can also ask for a PO or a contract detailing the conditions of your work- this is quite normal especially if they want you to spend your own money first. You do not have to agree to their terms if you are not happy with those - negotiate. Ask for a downpayment of travel expenses - in this case their willingness to make a contract will grow.

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Put yourself out of pocket??? Jun 2, 2014

Jekaterina Kotelnikova wrote:
The client (also an agency) sent me an email where the sum is written and their payment guidelines and they tell me that I should consider it as a PO.

Can anyone tell me if I should ask for a normal PO? And what should they write there? This is the first time I am working with them so...