Retainer Fee, Does it work for your interest?
Thread poster: Nehad Hussein

Nehad Hussein  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:35
English to Arabic
Jun 5, 2014

Hello Everyone,

I have a new client who keep sending small jobs of less than 200 words on a regular basis. so far I used to quote my minimum charge rate, but they came to me today with a proposal to pay a retainer fee. they explained it as that they will add all small jobs and send one invoice at the end of each month. I work mainly on marketing text which mean complexity varies based on the context and the time limit as well. So how can this work for the translator benefit? Should I ask for a fixed rate per job. please share your experience as I am so much dedicated to my work but I am new to the world of freelancing and want to know what exactly I am agreeing to.

philgoddard
United States
Member (2009)
German to English
+ ...
What do you mean by a retainer fee? Jun 5, 2014

If they're just adding up the wordcounts, that's not a retainer fee, it's a way of paying you less money. But I'm not sure if I've understood you correctly.

If they are indeed proposing that if you translate 55 words, you get paid for 55 words, that is not going to be worth your while financially and you should not agree to it.

[Edited at 2014-06-05 10:52 GMT]

KateKaminski
German to English
A retainer fee would work differently Jun 5, 2014

They are not offering a retainer fee, which would work differently. One solution:

They pay you a monthly flat rate for these small jobs. Perhaps you could agree to translate up to 1000 words per month of these small jobs, calculated at your standard rate. However, if you only translate 500 words in a certain month, the agency would still owe you the same flat rate for 1000 words (a retainer fee).