Cristiano Lima
Brazil
Local time: 06:57
Member (2014)
Russian to Portuguese
+ ...
Sep 4, 2014

Greetings!

I assume that everyone here knows that transactions at sites like Paypal require the payment of certain fees. Sometimes they are expressive amounts, around 30 dollars or more.

Hence, my question is, how do you deal with the outsourcer on this matter, since the Paypal fees are not included at invoices? (I suppose they are not)

Direct link Reply with quote

Paulinho Fonseca  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 06:57
Member (2011)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Paypal/Skrill fees Sep 4, 2014

Hi,

I have been using paypal for many years and what I do is to estimate fees and include them in my rates. I never let clients know fees are evident on invoices, although they are aware costs are included. Besides, paypal is way better than dealing with banks. I have got skrill account, but never used it.

Some of my clients use Xoom.com and they say there are no fees.

ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Turkey
Local time: 12:57
Member (2007)
Turkish to English
+ ...
50 % / 50 % Sep 4, 2014

PayPal happens to be pretty expensive. Perhaps one way to deal with this is to split the fees 50/50. Thus, you pay 50 % and the outsourcer pays the other 50 %. This occured to me just now, and I have not done it yet. What I used to do until now was to pay 100 % of the fee. I can see now that this is not fair at all. Actually, the scenario is that PayPal literally takes advantage of its customers by applying high fees.

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 09:57
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Charges must be paid for Sep 4, 2014

If there's an unavoidable charge to accept a payment, then that charge has to be paid for. Normally, it's the client who must pay, but not always.