Offers withour reply (EN RO), meaning....
Thread poster: Lake78
Lake78
Lake78  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:46
Member (2014)
Romanian to English
+ ...
Sep 5, 2014

Hello

I am a newbie here on proz (registered user) and I am dealing with this "plague": I get translations offers from various agencies (they make the first move), most of all sound the same "we have a few pages bla bla....give us your CV and rates". I give them the rates (0.02-0.03Euro/word) and my CV. No replay whatsoever from here on....I can't seem to find the meaning of this. Could it be:

The rate is too low, he does not know what he is doing (dumb ideea if you ask
... See more
Hello

I am a newbie here on proz (registered user) and I am dealing with this "plague": I get translations offers from various agencies (they make the first move), most of all sound the same "we have a few pages bla bla....give us your CV and rates". I give them the rates (0.02-0.03Euro/word) and my CV. No replay whatsoever from here on....I can't seem to find the meaning of this. Could it be:

The rate is too low, he does not know what he is doing (dumb ideea if you ask me)
They are trying to get a portofolio of translators
They found somebody cheaper and cannot be bothered to reply
They love me and are trying to print my CV and use it as toilet paper

Any ideas?

[Edited at 2014-09-05 14:53 GMT]
Collapse

Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 12:46
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
Job offers Sep 5, 2014

Welcome to the industry!

Many agencies are "head-hunting" to enlarge their pool of translators.

The type of inquiries you are receiving, asking your rate and for your business brochure (CV) are also "common" practice, and most agencies are serious and honest. However, there are some who only email you to "harvest" CV's. These are well-known scammers who use your information to land big jobs or who are abusing your business information in other ways.

Therefo
... See more