The image and the profit of a translator - Quiz for my thesis
Thread poster: Erica Di Tano
Sep 24, 2014

Dear Translators,

my name is Erica and I am currently studying "Languages and Communication for Business and Tourism" at the University of Aosta Valley in Italy. As part of my graduation, I am writing a thesis about the figure of the translator. In particular I am conducting a research on the economic profits of a translator, and by consequence, on his/her stauts in the society. This survey is addressed to translators, both from Italy and other European countries. I want to analyse the differences between an Italian translator and an European one, though I believe that the crisis of the translator is global. I will focus on the solutions given by professional translators.
I ask you to fill in this questionnaire, even anonymously:

http://www.thesistools.com/web/?id=428068

For any question regarding this research, please feel free to contact me.

Your help will be much appreciated.
Erica

[Edited at 2014-09-25 10:54 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 13:23
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
What do you mean... Sep 25, 2014

Erica Di Tano wrote:
As part of my graduation, I am writing a thesis about the figure of the translator.

What do you mean by "the figure"? Is that an Italian financial term? Or do you mean whether translators are overweight? Or do you mean the general caricature of translators? Or do you mean how many translators there are?

Samuel

Gad Kohenov  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 14:23
English to Hebrew
+ ...
figures=numeri Sep 25, 2014

I guess this is what is meant.

Gianluigi Desogus, PhD  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 11:23
English to Italian
+ ...
figura Sep 25, 2014