Subtitling Conformer - services and rates (EN-IT)
Thread poster: monica dal compare

monica dal compare  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 16:24
Member (2009)
English to Italian
+ ...
Oct 11, 2014

Dear colleagues,

I have been selected to be a Subtitling Conformer. The email I received says that this role will be my first step into the hiring subtitling company and will allow me to take on translation tasks as I gain experience.
The conforming rate is $0.48 USD/min. of runtime. This includes watching through a time-coded English subtitle file, looking for obvious objective errors, timing issues or missing sections of text, and final checks for spelling and syntax with automated tools.
I am new to the subtitling world so I would like to know if it is a fair rate.
The contract provides that Contractor agrees to provide translation, conforming, and proofreading services. This leaves me puzzled because I thought that conforming should not include translating.
What do you think?
Thanks in advance for your advice.

Monica

Direct link Reply with quote

Nicole Coesel  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2012)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Absurd! Oct 11, 2014

Dear Monica,

Please put on your TV and time 1 minute. What you will hear during that minute, you will later see in writing. Trust me, that is a LOT.

What they offer comes down to an hourly rate of USD 28.80 for 60 minutes or runtime.
1 minute of runtime will take you, at the very least, 5 times as much to check.

Meaning what they actually offer is an hourly rate of USD 5.76.

That would actually be an ok rate per minute in this market segment, but per hour??

Even if you would "only" have to proof the text, this customer of yours seems like an absolute bottom feeder to me.

I am by no means trying to discourage you from entering into this segment, but I don't want to see you get hurt and be abused.

I hope more people will speak up to let you know there are better partners out there to work for.

Best of luck!