Charging
Thread poster: robertaizidoro
robertaizidoro
robertaizidoro
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:12
English to Portuguese
Jan 18, 2015

I am a young PT(BR) - English translator based in London willing to get more experience, and have recently been offered a job to translate the first few chapters of a children's book. As I am quite new in the field and have no experience charging in the UK myself, I was wondering if someone could give me a rough idea of how much to charge per word. I intend to charge in GB Pound, if that is ok.

The language in the book is quite simple though, nothing too specific.

Tha
... See more
I am a young PT(BR) - English translator based in London willing to get more experience, and have recently been offered a job to translate the first few chapters of a children's book. As I am quite new in the field and have no experience charging in the UK myself, I was wondering if someone could give me a rough idea of how much to charge per word. I intend to charge in GB Pound, if that is ok.

The language in the book is quite simple though, nothing too specific.

Thanks a lot,

Roberta
Collapse

ATIL KAYHAN
ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 19:12
Member (2007)
Turkish to English
+ ...
Community Rates Jan 19, 2015

Dear Roberta,

I suggest that you look under the Tools menu > Community rates in ProZ. There is statistical rate information for any language pair there.

ISHWER BANSAL
ISHWER BANSAL
India
Local time: 21:42
Member (2014)
English to Hindi
+ ...
Community Rates Jan 19, 2015

Dear Roberta,

I agree with my predecessure that you should check community rates on proZ.com. As you are new, you should quote yur rates on lower side because due to lower rates, new outsources shall also contaxt you.

Regards,

Ishwer Chand Bansal
mob: 91+9654536831
New Delhi] India

Georgia Morg (X)
Georgia Morg (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Portuguese to English
price Jan 19, 2015

About 0.07 pence per word, I would have thought