How much should I ask for english-italian translation per source word?
Thread poster: alemagra
alemagra
Italy
Jan 26, 2015

I am being offered a job in a translation company and they asked me, via email, my rate per source word in translations from english to italian. Since I'm new in this world, I would like to know what should I answer them.

Thanks a lot to everybody!

Direct link Reply with quote

ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Turkey
Local time: 19:08
Member (2007)
Turkish to English
+ ...
You should take a look at Community Rates in ProZ. Jan 26, 2015

ProZ has a convenient tool called Community Rates. To find it, just find the Tools menu (on the RHS next to About menu). Community Rates is under the Tools menu in ProZ. Best of luck.

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 16:08
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
We can only give a very rough figure Jan 26, 2015

Atil's advice is all we can give, though I would also advise you to check with your local translators' association if possible. The problem is that we have no idea where you and your potential client are based, what type of texts are involved, what the purpose of the translations will be (a blog or email will probably attract a lower rate than an article for more professional publication), whether the agency expects you to deliver publication-ready material (i.e. having been read by a second pair of eyes) or whether simply carefully proofreading the work yourself will be enough, etc.