Translation of a novel : fees + royalties ?
Thread poster: Audrey Anzil

Audrey Anzil  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 13:00
English to French
+ ...
Feb 3, 2015

Hi all,

I have a few questions concerning a potential client who wants his 83000-word novel translated.
The book will be published through amazon publishing to be sold as an e-book - so no printing, no agencies, no publishers.

My questions:
-Do I only charge the translation or do I ask for a tiny percentage on sales as a copyright as well?

I've never translated books before so I'm new at this copyright matter..

-Also, do you think 0.09€/word is fair?

All above prices are VAT excluded.

Thank you!

paula13  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 09:00
Member (2005)
Always negotiate royalties Feb 3, 2015

Hi Audrey,

Depending on your country, intellectual property rights over your translations might be yours, not the author's. Therefore, you shouldn't even have to ask for royalties. Most countries have government agencies that will advise you on this. You might want to check out your local agency/intellectual property law. That said, I negotiate royalties on all my books.

About your fee, there's a lot of information to consider, I use a little formula for figuring out mine. You can find it here: http://translatorsdigest.net/2014/12/18/translation-rates-lets-do-the-actual-math/

Hope this helps!

Best,
Paula

Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:00
English to Spanish
+ ...
Novel Feb 3, 2015

0.09€/word is probably fair, but I would recommend staying away from royalties and just charging a flat fee, getting paid and letting the client sell it. You are in no position to determine how well the book sells, and you can never be sure the client is telling the truth. Furthermore, it could be a gernuine flop. Ask for an advance and partial payments as you deliver.

Kevin Fulton  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:00
German to English